CBS 11 Header TXA 21 Header MeTV Header KRLD Header The Fan Header
WATCH: West Explosion Memorial Service At 7:30 PM | Click Here For Complete Coverage

The Debate Heard Around the League!

Loser: Detroit Lions. Winner: NFL Rule 8, Section 1, Article 4

Did the ref blow the call or make the right call?

Read the official NFL rule after the jump…  

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 4:

A play from start to finish is a process. When you go to the ground, even after you’ve caught the ball, you have to maintain possession.

The rule states: If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.