By Stephen Hawkins, AP

DALLAS (AP) – Kansas junior Marcus Morris is The Associated Press Big 12 Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-9 forward who averages 17.3 points and 7.0 rebounds for the league champion Jayhawks was the overwhelming pick in balloting released Tuesday. He received 15 of 22 votes from a panel of sports writers and sportscasters who cover the league.

Morris was joined by Colorado sophomore guard Alec Burks as the only unanimous selections to the All-Big 12 first team. The rest of the first team is Kansas State senior Jacob Pullen, Texas sophomore Jordan Hamilton and Baylor senior LaceDarius Dunn, the Big 12’s career scoring leader.

Texas forward Tristan Thompson is the Freshman of the Year. Missouri junior forward Ricardo Ratliffe is the league’s Newcomer of the Year.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)