OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) – The field is set for the Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City and it includes four teams from the Big 12 Conference.

Bedlam rivals Oklahoma State and Oklahoma are in the field along with Big 12 counterparts Missouri and Baylor. It will be the first time Oklahoma and Oklahoma State have been in college softball’s top event in the same year.

Alabama and Florida from the Southeastern Conference and California and top-seeded Arizona State from the Pacific-10 Conference round out the field.

First-round games in the double-elimination event will be Thursday. In one bracket, Alabama will play California and Oklahoma State will play Baylor. In the other bracket, Arizona State will play Oklahoma and Florida will play Missouri.

The best-of-three championship series will start next Monday.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

More From CBS Dallas / Fort Worth

Drip Pan: CBS Local App
Drip Pan: Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE