By David Olshansky, CBS 11 Sports
cimg0048 Senate Resolution Celebrates Mavs Championship

(credit: Stuart Boslow/KTVT/KTXA)

WASHINGTON, D.C. (CBSDFW.COM) – Your NBA champs are getting some love on Capitol Hill.

Senators Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas) and John Cornyn (R-Texas) sponsored and passed a resolution congratulating the Dallas Mavericks on winning the Finals.

The resolution passed unanimously on the Senate floor.

It’s not the first time the Senate has passed a resolution congratulating a team on their championship win. As a matter of fact, a quick google search reveals it’s actually pretty common.

Still, you have to admit it’s pretty darn cool seeing the Mavs’ name at the top of an official government document.  The resolution lists all of the teams Dallas beat on the road to the championship. And every player on the roster was given credit, some individually, like Dirk and JET.

Some of the “official” language used in the resolution:

“Whereas the Mavericks epitomized a ‘‘never say die’’ attitude…”

“Whereas the Mavericks owner Mark Cuban never wavered in his commitment to bring an NBA championship to Dallas…

“Whereas the Mavericks gave the city of Dallas its first NBA  Championship…”

You can see the full text of the resolution here.

It might be the first and only Senate resolution you’ll ever actually want to read.