By Ryan Crowe,
375369 10150446200125890 501035889 8557630 138106287 n Baylors Griffin Wins Davey OBrien Award

Baylor University quarterback Robert Griffin III poses with the Davey O'Brien award. (Credit: Baylor University)

WACO ( – Baylor University quarterback Robert Griffin III is quickly adding hardware to his trophy case.

On Thursday night, he added the Davey O’Brien Award to his growing list of honors.

The Junior quarterback from Copperas Cove won the award Thursday night at a ceremony at Disney World in Florida.

The award is given annually by the Fort Worth Club to the nation’s top college football quarterback.

Griffin was also named a second-team All-American by the Walter Camp Football Foundation and a second-team Academic All-American by Capital One on Thursday.

On Wednesday, Griffin was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year for his performance in leading the Bears to a 9-3 season and an Alamo Bowl bid.

The accolades are all leading up to a possible Heisman Trophy for the Baylor quarterback.  He’s one of 5 finalists who will travel to New York Saturday.

The Heisman would be a first for Baylor.  The Waco university has had one previous player win the O’Brien Award twice.  It was given in 1979 and 1980 to linebacker Mike Singletary before the award was converted into a quarterback-only award in 1981.

More From CBS Dallas / Fort Worth

Drip Pan: CBS Local App
Drip Pan: Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE