NORTH TEXAS (CBSSPORTS.COM) – Conference USA, which has four schools departing to the Big East next season, is reloading by adding six schools in 2013, industry sources told

Florida International, Louisiana Tech, North Texas, Texas San Antonio, Charlotte and Old Dominion will join C-USA giving the league 14 members.

An official announcement could come as early as Friday, sources said.

CBSDFW reported on Monday that the University of North Texas‘ athletic programs would be moving to Conference USA in 2013, replacing SMU, who is off to the Big East.

Sources close to the situation told CBSDFW the Mean Green are preparing to make an announcement Friday on the Denton campus.

C-USA and the Mountain West originally were going to merge into one league, but there were too many legal obstacles and that will no longer happen, sources said. Instead, C-USA will increase to 14 members and the Mountain West will be at 10 members by adding Utah State and San Jose State in 2013, reported last week.

Even though C-USA and the MWC will remain separate leagues, they continue to work together on a plan to share scheduling, television and marketing resources.

Read more from CBS

Also Check Out: