CBS 11 Header TXA 21 Header MeTV Header KRLD Header The Fan Header
BREAKING: CDC Press conference confirming Dallas patient diagnosed with Ebola | Read More | Watch Live: CBS 11 News | Listen Live 1080 KRLD 


Sources: Cowboys Name Team Captains

By Mike Fisher | 105.3 The Fan,
View Comments
1268572 Mike Fisher
 Mike Fisher is an award-winning newspaper journalist, the author of...
Read More
Cowboys Central
Buy Cowboys Tickets
Sun Sep.21
  Away vs St Louis Rams
findticketsbtn Sources: Cowboys Name Team Captains
Sun Sep.28
    Home vs New Orleans Saints
findticketsbtn Sources: Cowboys Name Team Captains
Sun Oct.5
    Home vs Houston Texans
findticketsbtn Sources: Cowboys Name Team Captains
Sun Oct.12
    Away vs Seattle Seahawks
findticketsbtn Sources: Cowboys Name Team Captains
Shop for Cowboys Gear NFL Scoreboard
NFL Standings
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up
More Cowboys

Cowboys News Cowboys News

CoachesCorner Coaches Corner

JerryJonesShow The Owners Box

CowboysCheerleaders Cowboys Cheerleaders

Fantasy_tileNFL Cheerleaders

ATLANTA, GA - NOVEMBER 04:  Dan Bailey #5 of the Dallas Cowboys kicks a field goal against the Atlanta Falcons at Georgia Dome on November 4, 2012 in Atlanta, Georgia.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Dan Bailey is the only new team captain. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

IRVING (105.3 THE FAN) – The Dallas Cowboys have selected their team captains for the 2013 season, team sources tell me, and there is a mostly-familiar ring to the collection of leaders.

Quarterback Tony Romo and tight end Jason Witten are the offensive captains. Defensive end DeMarcus Ware and linebacker Sean Lee are the defensive captains. The only change, apparently, is kicker Dan Bailey taking over for Danny McCray as the special-teams captain.

Starting two seasons ago, the Cowboys captains wore the “C” patch (designating “team captain”) on their jerseys. But with or without the patch, Dallas coach Jason Garrett – who will announce the honorees later this week — is on-record as lauding the club’s leadership … and on record as demanding it.

“You want guys who are leaders,’’ Garrett told his team in a video-taped opening address at training camp. “Step up and be a [expletive] leader. Lead this football team. Lead it!”

He’s now got five men with that official designation.

(©2013 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Sports Stories You May Also Be Interested In:

View Comments