Mike Fisher for 105.3 The Fan | CBSDFW.com

IRVING (105.3 THE FAN) –  Dez Bryant isn’t yet Michael Irvin’s equal as a decorated Dallas Cowboys receiver. But in terms of understanding how the NFL’s Most Valuable Player award is earned, give Dez the edge over “The Playmaker.”

The Hall-of-Famer Irvin – unabashedly biased toward Bryant and the Cowboys – is predicting that Bryant will win the 2013 MVP award. When asked to respond to the praise, and what it takes to win that honor, Bryant answered coyly.

“Being a quarterback,” he said.

And in fact, in the history of the NFL and assorted respected MVP-awarding bodies, Green Bay’s Don Hutson (1941 and 1942) and San Francisco’s Jerry Rice (1987) are the only receivers to be given the honor. Bryant recognizes that if he experiences an MVP-level year, it’ll likely mean the Cowboys are winning — and that his quarterback Tony Romo will be doing the same.

And therefore, Romo would win MVP.

“I believe Tony’s got a good shot at being MVP because I think his mindset is to go out and get it,” Bryant said. “I honestly feel like if we do everything we’re supposed to do, he’ll get it, without a doubt. He’ll get it. If he gets it, I already know, hey, I was part of it, and that’s just as good to me.”

The Associated Press may be the most recognized MVP award. In its 56-year existence it’s never been won by a receiver, and in five of the last six years it’s been given to a QB.

“I think MVP awards go to quarterbacks because they’re the bosses, the CEOs on the field,” Bryant said. “We’re just there to get him where he’s supposed to go.”

(©2013 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Latest News:

Top Trending: