WATCH LIVE ONLINE: TX/OU Coaches' Cabana: Former college football coaches and players sit down to analyze game footage and take fan questions.


Machado Denies Beltre Third Straight Gold Glove

Texas Rangers
Read More
More Rangers

85909530 Machado Denies Beltre Third Straight Gold GloveRangers Coverage

nolan Machado Denies Beltre Third Straight Gold GloveVote: Greatest Rangers

Rangers PhotosRangers Photos

dsc 0644 Machado Denies Beltre Third Straight Gold GloveBuy Team Gear

105965691 8 Machado Denies Beltre Third Straight Gold GloveComment Below

Manny Machado (L) and Adrian Beltre (R). (Photo by Tom Szczerbowski/Getty Images)  (Photo by Rick Yeatts/Getty Images)

Manny Machado (Photo by Tom Szczerbowski/Getty Images) and Adrian Beltre (Photo by Rick Yeatts/Getty Images)

ARLINGTON (CBSDFW.COM) — For the first time since 2010, the Texas Rangers do not have a Gold Glove winner.

Seeking his third straight award, veteran third baseman Adrian Beltre was beat out by 21-year-old Manny Machado of the Baltimore Orioles.

Beltre was named a finalist for the award at 3B, along with Tampa Bay’s Evan Longoria and Machado.

In his second season, Machado led all infielders in ultimate zone rating (UZR) and defensive runs scored (DRS), both advanced statistics developed to gauge the effectiveness of a defensive player.

Traditionally, the voting is conducted by league managers, though a new component was added this season. For the first time, Rawlings (the award sponsor) added a “sabermetric component” as part of its collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research. This component comprised approximately 25 percent of the vote, while the managers’ votes continued to carry the majority.

Beltre has won four Gold Gloves in his career: two with Texas (2011, 2012) and two with Seattle (2007, 2008).

The 16-year veteran played in 161 games for Texas in 2013, leading the team with 30 HRs, 92 RBIs, and 199 hits.

Outside of Beltre, the Rangers have won five Gold Glove awards in the past 10 seasons. (Michael Young, SS, 2008; Mark Texeira, 1B, 2005-06; Kenny Rogers, P,  2004-05)

(©2013 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Sports Stories You May Also Be Interested In: