Controversial Error Call Changed In Near No-Hitter
Rangers CentralShop for Rangers Gear
Buy Rangers Tickets
Sports Fan Insider
ARLINGTON (CBSDFW.COM) – Yu Darvish took a no-hitter into the final at bat on Friday night against the Red Sox at Globe Life Park in Arlington. Or at least we thought he did.
Major League Baseball has overturned a controversial 7th inning “error” call, instead ruling that David Ortiz’ fly ball was a hit.
Playing in a shift, second baseman Rougned Odor drifted into right field to catch the high fly ball; right fielder Alex Rios came on as well.
In the end, both fielders watched as the ball fell to the grass in shallow right field, breaking up Darvish’s perfect game. It turns out the mistake also cost Darvish the no-hitter.
The official scorer ruled the play an error, citing MLB Rule 10.12(a)(1):
The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorers judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball.
Ortiz would go on to end Darvish’s perceived no-hitter with a single to right field with two outs in the 9th inning.
(©2014 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
- 6 Things That Mark On Payton’s Forehead Resembles
- 10 Things You Didn’t Know About WWE Legend Chris Jericho
- Cowboys Tickets 42% Below Average For Monday Night Game Vs. Redskins
- Presbyterian Hospital Says ‘Thank You’ For Loyalty, Lessons Learned
- Top WWE Diva AJ Lee Has High Praise For Newcomer Paige
- PHOTOS: Your Pet Pictures