CBS 11 Header TXA 21 Header MeTV Header KRLD Header The Fan Header
HAPPENING TODAY: Join KRLD from 10a-7p in Downtown Carrollton as our Your Hometown Tour continues!


DISD Appoints 4 Teachers To Home Rule Charter Commission


Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up

From Our CBS Music Web Sites

494849761 10 DISD Appoints 4 Teachers To Home Rule Charter CommissionCelebrating National Underwear Day

465887719 DISD Appoints 4 Teachers To Home Rule Charter CommissionFacebook Users – Beware The App!

 alt=JLo Shows Off Her Best Assets In New Cover

904255 10 DISD Appoints 4 Teachers To Home Rule Charter CommissionRemembering Robin Williams

 alt=Musicians Then And Now


VOTE: Best Coaches In American Sports

DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) - DISD has selected the teachers who will serve on the 15 person Home-Rule Charter Commission.  Home Rule is a 20-year-old state law that allows school districts to bypass some state laws and create a new power structure within a district.

According to a statement released by the district, the 75 teachers who applied to be a part of the commission were narrowed to 14 finalists.  From that group, four teachers and two alternates were chosen.

The selected teachers are:

  • Isaac Freeman, Thomas C. Marsh Middle School
  • Ron Oliver, James Bowie Elementary School
  • Bonita Reece, Birdie Alexander Elementary School
  • Julie Sandel, Hillcrest High School

The following two alternates have also been selected:

  • Mark Harrington, Seagoville High School
  • Candace McAfee, Skyline High School

The Dallas ISD Board of Trustees will select the remaining eleven members of the charter commission. Eight of the individuals serving on the commission must be district parents.  Commission members must be named within 30 days of May 22, the date when nearly 25,000 petition signatures supporting Home-Rule were verified.

Once appointed, the commission has up to a year to complete its work.

The online application for those interested in joining the commission can be found here.

(©2014 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Latest News:

Top Trending:




Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42,319 other followers