(credit: CBSDFW.COM)

NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) – A Texas driver license can now only be obtained if the person applying can show proof of residency.

READ MORE: Texas-Based Barge Company To Pay $15.3M For Damages From 2014 Oil Spill In Houston Ship Channel

A new state law that went into effect today requires those applying prove they’ve lived in the state at least 30 days.

“These residency documents will be on top of the standard requirements that are necessary already to obtain a license or identification card,” Tom Vinger, with the Texas Department of Public Safety.

New applicants must now provide two acceptable documents.

READ MORE: Texas Man Who Worked As Nanny Sentenced To 30 Years In Prison For Child Molestation

“The acceptable documents showing residency include an applicants name and address,” Vinger said. “And there’s also an affidavit process for people, for example high school kids who are living with their parents, and may not be able to provide these documents.”

The change in required documentation is a result of a law passed last year.

“It was approved by the Texas Legislature [and] DPS is implementing it,” Vinger said. “The requirements start May 7.”

MORE NEWS: Person In California Becomes 1st Case Of Omicron COVID-19 Variant Identified In US

Click here to find out more about obtaining a state driver license.