By Bill Jones | TXA 21The FAN Sports Show |By Bill Jones

FORT WORTH (TXA 21) – Members of the 2013 Taco Bell All North Texas High School Football Team appeared live in studio on TXA 21’s Fan Sports Show on Monday night.

The team consists of 23 of the most highly recruited players in the state, as voted on in part by area high school coaches.

READ MORE: Dallas Police Make Arrest In New Year's Day Bus Stop Murder Of 49-Year-Old Man

The skill position players include Landry Award finalists Kyler Murray (Allen), Desmon White (DeSoto/TCU), Ian Sadler (Argyle/TexasTech), and Xavier Turner (Birdville). Junior Demarkus Lodge helped lead Cedar Hill to the Class 5A Division II state title, and Trinity running back Isaac Ellsworth (5-5. 147) announced on the show he’s committed to Georgetown University.

The All North Texas offensive linemen are highly recruited Demetrius Knox (FW All Saints Episcopal/Ohio State), Ty Barrett (Dallas Skyline/TCU), Evan Brown (Southlake Carroll/SMU), Tony Richards (Highland Park/SMU), and Brad Lundblade (Argyle Liberty Christian/Oklahoma State).

Landry Award winner Myles Garrett (Arlington Martin/Texas A&M) headlines the All North Texas defense. Garrett is joined on the front four by Xavier Washington (Cedar Hill), Sione Teuhema (Keller/Texas), and Solomon Thomas (Coppell), a two-time All North Texas honoree who has narrowed his college choices to Stanford, Arkansas, or UCLA.

All North Texas linebackers include junior Malik Jefferson (Mesquite Poteet), Edwin Freeman (Arlington Bowie/Texas), and Tay Evans (Allen/Oklahoma). The secondary features Jamal Adams (Hebron/LSU), Brandon Simmons (Mansfield Timberview/Stanford), Edward Paris (Mansfield Timberview/LSU), and Jah’Shawn Johnson (Ennis/Texas Tech).

Rounding out the squad is place kicker Drew Brown (Southlake Carroll/Nebraska), who will follow in the footsteps of his older brother, former NFL kicker Kris Brown, as a Cornhusker.

In addition, TXA 21 continued its tradition of honoring a Coach of the Year, selecting Cedar Hill’s Joey McGuire, who led the Longhorns to the Class 5A Division II state championship.

To wrap up TXA 21’s Fan Sports Show on Monday, the All North Texas team was split into two teams in a lively “Big 12 vs. The World” Family Feud trivia competition.

2013 Taco Bell All North Texas Team


QB-Kyler Murray, Allen

ATH-Desmon White, DeSoto

RB-Xavier Turner, Birdville

RB-Isaac Ellsworth, Euless Trinity

WR-Demarkus Lodge, Cedar Hill

WR-Ian Sadler, Argyle

TE-Blake Mahon, Coppell

READ MORE: 50K Veterans Impacted By 2-Week Closure Of Fort Worth VA Clinic Due To Burst Pipe Damage

OL-Demetrius Knox, FW All Saints Episcopal

OL-Ty Barrett, Dallas Skyline

OL-Evan Brown, Southlake Carroll

OL-Tony Richards, Highland Park

OL-Brad Lundblade, Argyle Liberty Christian

K-Drew Brown, Southlake Carroll


DL-Myles Garrett, Arlington Martin

DL-Solomon Thomas, Coppell

DL-Xavier Washington, Cedar Hill

DL-Sione Teuhema, Keller

LB-Malik Jefferson, Mesquite Poteet

LB-Tay Evans, Allen

LB-Edwin Freeman, Arlington Bowie

DB-Jamal Adams, Hebron

DB-Brandon Simmons, Mansfield Timberview

DB-Edward Paris, Mansfield Timberview

MORE NEWS: FEMA COVID-19 Vaccine Site Opens At Globe Life Field In Arlington

DB-Jah’Shawn Johnson, Ennis