Follow | Facebook | Twitter


READ MORE: Crowley ISD Dropping Mask Mandate As COVID-19 Case Numbers In School District Drop

DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) — Severe storms moved across North Texas Thursday, leaving many residents and businesses in the dark on Friday morning. As a result, a number of schools in Arlington and Dallas will be closed on Friday.

Arlington ISD announced that all classes will be canceled and all offices closed on Friday. The district says a decision about all afternoon activities will be made later today.

— Students at Brandenburg Intermediate school in Duncanville ISD should report to Reed Middle School Muldrew Gym.

— There will be a one-hour delay for South Grand Prairie High School students who don’t ride the bus. All other GPISD schools will be on regular schedules.

Mesquite ISD is closing 6 schools:  Austin, Galloway, Seabourn, Rugel, Rutherford, WMHS.

Richardson ISD is closing the following schools: Forest Meadow JH, Moss Haven, Wallace, Merriman Park, Lake Highlands Elementary, Lake Highlands Freshman Center

— Bishop Lynch High School, Selwyn College Preparatory School, St. Phillips School, and the University of Texas-Arlington will also be closed.

READ MORE: Mavericks Fans Must Bring COVID-19 Vaccine Card Or Proof Of Negative Test To Attend Dallas' Home Opener

— As of 8:00 a.m., the Dallas Independent School District said the following campuses are without power and will be closed. All other schools and buses will run on normal schedule.

All athletic events scheduled for tonight will take place as scheduled.

A. Maceo Smith New Tech HS
Adelle Turner ES
Alex W. Spence MS
Annie Webb Blanton ES
Arthur Kramer ES
B.H. Macon ES
Ben Franklin MS
Casa View ES
Central ES
Cesar Chavez ES
Clinton Russell ES
Dan D Rogers ES
Daniel Webster ES
E M Pease ES
Francisco Medrano MS
George Truett ES
H. Grady Spruce HS
Harry Stone ES
Highland Meadows ES
HW Longfellow MS
J N Ervin ES
J.F. Kimball HS
J.J. Rhoads ES
John B. Hood MS
John Quincy Adams ES
Julius Dorsey ES
Kathlyn Gilliam Collegiate Academy
L L Hotchkiss ES
Lakewood ES
M. T. Reilly ES
Nathan Adams ES
Nathaniel Hawthorne ES
Obadiah Knight ES
Pleasant Grove ES
Preston Hollow ES
R E Lee ES
R L Thornton ES
Robert T. Hill MS
San Jacinto ES
Stephen Foster ES
Stonewall Jackson ES
Sudie Williams ES
T.W. Browne MS
V. H. Hexter ES
W.E. Greiner MS
William Atwell MS
William M. Anderson ES
Winnetka ES ​


(©2014 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Latest News:

[display-posts category=”news,sports” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”5″]

MORE NEWS: Gas Leak Shuts Down 2 Blocks In Downtown Fort Worth, 1 Building Evacuated

Top Trending: