Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

It’s the Saturday before Super Bowl 50 in Santa Clara, California, and that means the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee is meeting behind closed doors at this hour to pick the five 2016 inductees, plus up to three senior/contributor finalists.

The committee spends about eight hours deliberating over the 18 finalists. I contend this can be done in about eight minutes. Once again this year, my selection committee invitation must have gotten lost in the mail. So, this is my unsolicited ballot.

EDDIE DEBARTOLO: San Francisco is hosting Super Bowl 50. Easy pick. Let the embattled former 49ers owner in.

Senior Candidates
KENNY STABLER: One of two senior candidates. Again, home-field advantage goes to this former Oakland Raiders great. Can’t believe The Snake’s not already in. Should have happened before he passed away last summer. And this week there’s the report that Stabler suffered from CTE. Snake’s in.

DICK STANFEL: Former Lions and Giants linemen in the ’50s. That’s about all I know of him. But like Stabler, he also passed away last summer. Why does the Hall of Fame wait until it’s too late to honor these guys?

Regular Ballot
BRETT FAVRE: Next question.

TERRELL OWENS: 1078 receptions (6th). 15,934 yards (2nd). 153 receiving touchdowns (3rd). First Ballot Hall-of-Famer. Please don’t drag this out where we have to discuss him again next year. Next question.

MARVIN HARRISON: 1102 receptions (3rd). 14,580 yards (7th). 128 receiving touchdowns (5th). No-brainer.

MORTEN ANDERSON: The committee needs to quit holding a grudge against kickers. Yeah, he’s a kicker. But he played 26 years! He holds 13 NFL records! 382 games played! Most field goals, most points scored in NFL history. Good grief, get over yourselves and vote him in. It doesn’t mean the floodgates open and all these kickers start getting in.

KEVIN GREENE: Holds the NFL record for sacks by a linebacker (160). Three-time 1st team All Pro. 1996 NFL Defensive Player of the Year. This is Greene’s fifth year as a finalist, the longest wait of anyone on this year’s ballot. He’s a former Carolina Panther; the Panthers are in the Super Bowl. Put him in!

Of course, the same could be said for former Broncos safety John Lynch. My final spot came down to Greene, Lynch, Kurt Warner or Orlando Pace. Greene gets in based on the longer wait, five years compared to three years as a finalist for Lynch and two years for Warner and Pace.

Wait Until Next Year
John Lynch, Kurt Warner, Orlando Pace, Alan Faneca

Maybe Someday
Steve Atwater, Terrell Davis, Joe Jacoby, Edgerrin James, Tony Dungy, Don Coryell

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)