Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

AUSTIN (AP) — Brooke McCarty scored 16 points and matched a career-best with eight assists and No. 8 Texas defeated TCU 71-58 Saturday.

The Longhorns (26-2, 15-2 Big 12) can tie Baylor for the conference championship with a win in Waco on Monday night in the final regular season game.

McCarty, a sophomore guard, made four 3-pointers. Imani Boyette, one of four seniors playing in their final regular season home game, contributed 12 points and nine rebounds.

Zahna Medley led TCU (15-13, 7-10) with 15 points. Jada Butts scored 12.

The Longhorns have won 15 Big 12 games for the first time since 2002-03, when they reached the NCAA Final Four. Texas finished 15-1 that season.

Texas, after struggling in the first quarter, took a 36-27 halftime lead primarily because of McCarty and Brianna Taylor. McCarty produced seven points and four assists in the second quarter, and Taylor added six points and two assists.

McCarty ignited the rally with a deft pass to Taylor for a basket inside. Taylor returned the favor, assisting on McCarty’s 3-point basket. McCarty then stole a TCU pass, converting the turnover into a fast-break layup, and followed up with a driving basket.

Medley initiated a comeback attempt with 10 points in the third quarter, and her driving shot cut the Texas lead with four minutes remaining in the period. But McCarty responded with a pair of 3-pointers, and Texas finished the period with the same nine-point lead it had at halftime.


TCU: The Horned Frogs fell to 2-37 all-time against Texas. TCU has never won a game in Austin. … Senior Zahna Medley’s 15 points left her three short of breaking Sandora Irvin’s career scoring record for TCU.

Texas: Longhorn starters Imani Boyette, Empress Davenport and Brady Sanders each picked up two fouls in the first half and combined to play only five minutes of the second quarter. … Sanders started for the first time this season because it was senior night.


TCU hosts Kansas on Monday

Texas is at Baylor on Monday

(© Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)