Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – The race for Dallas County Commissioner in District 3 is garnering a lot of attention, especially after two of the candidates made headlines… for the wrong reasons.

It’s important to remember that even outside of the presidential primaries voters have a lot of options.

In Dallas, the near-fight between current Dallas County Commissioner John Wiley Price and former Dallas Mayor Pro Tem and current Commissioner candidate Dwaine Caraway last week cast a negative light over the Democratic primary race. Some say the ruckus may even keep people from showing up at the polls today.

Price has served as Commissioner for District 3 for the last 30 years. Caraway, who left the Dallas City Council last year because of term limits, is running against him. Until last week, the two were the top political figures in District 3.

A verbal altercation broke out between Price and Caraway during a candidate forum at the gospel radio station KHVN-AM, Heaven 97. The argument broke out during a commercial break and did not go out over the airwaves, but police were called to the scene. Micah B. Phillips, who is also competing for the District 3 seat, captured the incident on his cell phone.

It seems fallout from the dustup just wont settle. A staffer for Caraway has filed a lawsuit against Price, claiming he was physically choked during the incident. And Phillips has filed a lawsuit against Caraway, claiming accusations he made by Caraway damaged his reputation.

Former Balch Springs mayor Cedric Davis is also running for the District 3 position, but was not at the radio station when the incident occurred.

District 3 covers most of southern Dallas County and a majority of the city of Mesquite.

Find out what you need to know about voting on the Dallas County Elections webpage, just click on “Election Day Information.”

Transportation to the polls is also being made easier. Passengers who show a valid voters registration card can ride DART free today, between the hours of 6 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)