Follow The Fan: Facebook | Twitter

DALLAS (105.3 The Fan) – Dallas Cowboys owner, president and general manager Jerry Jones may finally be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Pro Football HOF made the announcement on Tuesday that Jones and former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue have been named contributor finalists for the class of 2017.

The contributor category was established in 2015 when general managers Bill Polian and Ron Wolf became the first two nominees. Former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr. was the lone nominee in 2016. All three were elected to the Hall of Fame.

To be elected into the Hall of Fame as a contributor you must have 80% of the vote from the selection committee for election. The Class of 2017  vote will take place in Houston on Super Bowl weekend in February.

Former Cowboys head coach Jimmy Johnson, who won two Super Bowls with Dallas in ’92 and ’93, congratulated Jones on the announcement.

Since Jones purchased the Cowboys in 1989, the Cowboys have won three Super Bowls, while he’s been a very important figure in the NFL.

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)