UPDATED | September 8, 2017  8:45 PM

AUSTIN (CBSDFW.COM) – Governor Greg Abbott Monday requested seven additional Texas counties be added to the Federal Disaster Declaration previously granted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

This request will bring the total number of counties receiving assistance to 43.

The counties are: Austin, Bastrop, DeWitt, Gonzales, Karnes, Lavaca and Lee.

The newly requested counties will now be eligible to receive Individual Assistance, Public Assistance (Categories A and B including Direct Federal Assistance) and Hazard Mitigation from FEMA in response to the damage caused by Hurricane Harvey.

Additional counties will be added as they meet federal requirements.

“While the road to recovery is a difficult one, Texas remains committed to helping the victims as long as it may take,” said Governor Abbott. “I am pleased with the work of our federal partners to help Texas get critical resources to those in need. Rebuilding after a disaster is no small feat, but I have no doubt we will recover stronger than ever before.”

The additional counties were immediately granted approval by FEMA.

greg e1503781639745 Gov. Abbott Adds 7 Texas Counties To Presidential Disaster Declaration

Gov. Greg Abbott gives updates on Texas’ response to Hurricane Harvey on August 26.

Also Monday, FEMA granted Governor Abbott’s request for Community Disaster Loan assistance for Texas localities impacted by Hurricane Harvey.

Texas cities currently recovering from the storm can now receive funding to help maintain their operating budgets and continue their full operations while also focusing on rebuilding their communities.

The Governor thanked FEMA for their quick response in helping these cities.   

“The quick and focused work of our federal partners in response to Hurricane Harvey has been essential to the recovery effort in Texas,” said Governor Abbott. “These loans are critical to providing cities with the resources and flexibility to recover while still providing important services to the Texans in their communities. I look forward to our continued work with the federal government and thank them for their help on behalf of the victims of this storm.”