DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – In a private ceremony Thursday, the Dallas Police Department unveiled portraits for the four Dallas Police officers killed in the downtown ambush on July 7, 2016.

The portraits are of Dallas Police Senior Corporal Lorne Ahrens (#8193, Service Dates: 1/25/02-7/8/16), Dallas Police Sergeant Michael Smith (#6141, Service Dates: 9/28/80-7/7/16), Dallas Police Officer Michael Krol (#9217, Service Dates: 9/5/07-7/7/16),  and Dallas Police Officer Patricio Zamarripa (#10112, Service Dates: 7/20/10-7/7/16), “all who heroically sacrificed their lives on July 7, 2016,” the police department said.

READ MORE: 1 Dead, 1 Injured In Fort Worth Shooting On Sycamore School Rd

Families of the fallen officers joined members of the Dallas Police Department for the ceremony.

Senior Corporal Lorne Ahrens, Sergeant Michael Smith, Officer Michael Krol and Officer Patricio Zamarripa (credit: Dallas Police Department)

Prior to unveiling the portraits, the Dallas Police honor guard presented the colors and words of remembrance were shared by Major Paul Junger and Sergeant Ivan Gunter. Both have been recognized for their bravery on July 7. Major Junger received a Medal of Honor and Sergeant Gunter received a Medal of Valor.

The portraits will be hung at the Dallas Police Academy in its Hallway of Heroes.

READ MORE: Gay’s 30-Yard FG Lifts Rams Over Brady, Buccaneers 30-27

The Dallas Police Department began honoring its fallen officers with portraits in 1986.

They serve as a reminder of sacrifice and service for Dallas Police recruits, the department said. 

Currently there are eighty portraits.  

Texas artist James R. Spurlock has painted more than sixty of the portraits, including those unveiled Thursday.

MORE NEWS: Blind Man Who Rescued 5 After Oklahoma City Bombing Dies

A total of five police officers were killed in the July 7, 2016 ambush, including Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) Officer Brent Thompson.