DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – The city of Dallas has its newest mayor after state Rep. Eric Johnson defeated city councilman Scott Griggs Saturday evening.

With most of the precincts having been reported and with a 56% to 44% lead, Johnson thanked his supporters at a watch party for his victory in the runoff election.

READ MORE: Anna Police Investigating Crash That Killed 22-Year-Old Man

“The voters of Dallas I think were very clear in this election they want that. They want big ideas. They want bold solutions. And we are gonna give the people of Dallas that,” Johnson said in his victory speech.

Johnson had an early lead that didn’t become close as he kept a lead of about 12% throughout the evening.

Dallas has elected its newest mayor since 2011. Current Mayor Mike Rawlings was unable to run again due to term limits.

“The voters of this city, I have said since the first time I ran for office, are smart and they are good people. And if they are given the information that they need to make an informed decision, they will get it right every single time. And I think they got it right tonight,” Johnson said.

Johnson will be inaugurated on June 17.

READ MORE: Texas Joins Oklahoma's Effort To Overturn McGirt

“The sky is the limit for anybody in this city and I’m living proof because there is nothing special about me. I can guarantee you there is nothing special about me,” Johnson said.

Other results included the seat for Dallas District 04 where Carolyn King Arnold defeated Dawn M. Blair 53% to 47%. King Arnold has held the seat as an interim after Dwaine Caraway pled guilty to federal corruption charges last year.

For District 14, David Blewett took the seat from incumbent Philip Kingston 54% to 46%.

Paula Blackmon won the seat in District 09 over Erin Moore 52% to 48%

In a close race, Adam Bazaldua defeated Tiffinni Young 51% to 49% for the District 07 seat.

MORE NEWS: 2 Killed, 5 Injured After Drag Racer Slams Into Spectators An Texas Airport

For more results in Dallas County, click here.