By Ken Molestina

AUSTIN, Texas (CBSDFW.COM) – Governor Greg Abbott announced Monday, Feb. 22, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved an additional 31 Texas counties to be added to the President’s Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance.

The Governor originally requested Individual Assistance for all 254 Texas counties on February 13.

READ MORE: Dallas Stars Win Fourth Game In A Row, Beating Arizona Coyotes 3-2

On February 20, the White House partially approved Texas’ request for a Major Disaster Declaration.

The partial approval included Individual Assistance in 77 counties and for Public Assistance (Emergency Protective Measures Only) in all 254 counties.

The Major Disaster Declaration allows for victims to apply for financial assistance from FEMA for things like repairs and refund for hotel stays, but applicants must request the help within 60 days.

To apply, click here or call 800- 621-3362.

Armstrong said you will need to provide information about the location of the damage, the damage itself, and even checking account information so that funds can be deposited into your account if approved.

He also said the first call should be made to you insurance company to file the proper claim before they can help.

READ MORE: Dallas Police Ask Public For Help Finding Deadly Hit-And-Run Suspects

“The average grant over the past few years has averaged between $3,000 and $5,000,” Armstrong said.

FEMA officials say you should expect a call back within a couple of days of completed your application for approval.

Additional counties will continue to be re-requested as the State of Texas continues to receive information reported from individuals who have suffered damage from the winter storm.

Texans are urged to fill out the Texas Division of Emergency Management’s Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool to help the state identify damages across Texas and help emergency management officials gain an understanding of damages that occurred during the recent winter weather.

FEMA has asked the state of Texas for additional information regarding the amount of damage in the counties that have yet to be declared, and TDEM will continue to present that information until all Texas counties that qualify for federal assistance receive the assistance they need.

“I thank FEMA for their swift approval of these additional counties and for their continued partnership as we ensure Texans have access to relief following the winter storm,” said Governor Abbott. “I urge Texans to use the Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool so that the state can continue to identify damages and fight for the crucial assistance that our communities need.”

MORE NEWS: Missing Canadian Aaron Tschritter Last Seen In Deep Ellum Came For Cowboys Game, Never Made It 

Counties included in this latest approval are Anderson, Austin, Bosque, Bowie, Burnet, Cherokee, Colorado, Erath, Fannin, Freestone, Gonzales, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hill, Houston, Hunt, Jackson, Jim Wells, Jones, Limestone, Lubbock, Medina, Milam, Navarro, Rusk, Taylor, Tom Green, Val Verde, Washington and Wood.