NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) — If your Texas car registration is expired you only have a few days to get it renewed without penalty and possible citation.
After Wednesday, April 14 police will start ticketing drivers who do not have a current registration sticker.READ MORE: Yes, Your Allergies Are Probably Acting Up As DFW Ranks At Top Of Worst Cities For Pollen
It was last year when Governor Greg Abbott signed an order to waive certain vehicle title and registration requirements due to COVID-19.
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) wants drivers to complete any overdue transactions.READ MORE: Texas Lawmakers Propose New Congressional Maps That Would Fortify GOP Advantages
There are three ways to renew your vehicle registration:
- Online at TxDMV.gov or Texas.gov. Save $1 if you renew online. Online renewal is available up to nine months past your registration expiration date.
- By Mail: Return the bottom portion of your registration renewal form, payment and other required information to your county tax assessor-collector.
- In Person: Visit the office of your county tax assessor-collector.
Before renewing registration, Texans will need to obtain a passing vehicle inspection at the state vehicle inspection station of their choice, unless their vehicle is exempt from inspection requirements.MORE NEWS: Dallas Police K-9 Ballentine Makes 42 Pound Marijuana Bust At Dallas Love Field Airport
The expiring temporary waiver covers the following services:
- Initial vehicle registration
- Vehicle registration renewal
- Vehicle titling
- Renewal of permanent disabled parking placards
- 30-day temporary permits