Report: NASCAR Drivers Can Only Compete For One Title In 2011

The Sports Network for 105.3 The Fan

DAYTONA BEACH, FL (Sports Network) – NASCAR is expected to change its rules on how many championships a driver can compete for among the three national touring series, starting in 2011.

According to a report from, drivers will only be allowed to compete for a championship in the Sprint Cup, Nationwide or Camping World Truck Series.

Nationwide driver Kenny Wallace confirmed the rule change to after he received his 2011 NASCAR applications while testing for the upcoming 24- hour Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series race at Daytona International Speedway.

“The brand-new license forms that are out, there’s a box and in it which states that you have to mark — put an X — what championship you’re running for,” Wallace said.

Wallace quoted from the application, “A driver will only be permitted to earn driver championship points in one of the following three series: NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCAR Nationwide or NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Please select the series in which you would like to accumulate driver championship points. Choose one.”

NASCAR has scheduled a “competition update” on January 21 at Daytona. Sprint Cup teams will be at Daytona from January 20-22 for pre-season testing.

Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards and Paul Menard ran a full schedule in both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series during the 2010 season. Keselowski won last year’s Nationwide title by 445 points over Edwards.

More from NASCAR

One Comment

  1. JB says:

    NASCAR usually does make more sense than any gov’t agency – –
    Sound right to me – –

  2. chuckZ says:

    One more month till Daytona then 10 months of races.
    Come on Keselowski.
    #22 Discount Tire- Dodge Challenger.

  3. James Curtis says:

    So does this mean we wont see Sprint racers racing in the nationwide? That sucks! GO KYLE!

  4. payton says:

    Your still going to see drivers racing in both or all three series. Remember if a Nationwide driver wins his race and drives in a Sprint race, the winning purse is about the same as finishing about 20 place in a Sprint race. Sprint has several races that 1st place gets almost a million dollars. Good rule change, let’s shake it up.

Comments are closed.

More From CBS Dallas / Fort Worth

Drip Pan: CBS Local App
Drip Pan: Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE