New School Meningitis Vaccine Law Leads To Shortages

NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) – Some college students attempting to return to campus after the holiday break will not be allowed on campus.

Senate Bill 1107 went into effective January 1, 2012 and requires all new, transfer and returning college students, under the age of 30, to have documentation proving they’ve received the bacterial meningitis vaccination.

Across North Texas, the push to be vaccinated has led to shortages. In fact, officials with Dallas County Health and Human Services (DCHHS) announced Friday that they have run out of the vaccine.

DCHHS Director Zachary Thompson said the department order 50,000 vaccines to cover this week’s rush but, “We’ve only got a fraction of what we ordered.”

Dallas County had been offering the meningitis vaccines for $10. Thompson said,“The normal cost of the vaccine is $150.”

Colleges and universities across the state are warning students that they will not be allowed to attend classes on campus without evidence of vaccination.

Health officials say college students are especially at risk for meningococcal meningitis because of their age and the number of young people often living in close quarters.

Bacterial meningitis is caused when the fluid that surrounds the brain and spinal cord becomes infected and inflamed. Coughing, sneezing, kissing and sharing personal items can spread the disease from person to person.

Texas college students 30 years old or older are exempt from the requirement, as well as students taking online or correspondence courses.

Texas is the only state in the union with such a broad meningitis vaccination mandate.


One Comment

  1. James says:

    They hope you will just read the headline and move along.

    there is NO LAW requiring vaccinations. A ‘manadate’ which you have to get to the end of the story to see it’s a ‘mandate’ is NOT a law….

    Schools are required to tell you about a waiver, and give you a form to get waived.

    Don’t be fooled. And the “herd immunity” farce has been dis-proven.

  2. mar says:

    dcccd is NOT telling anyone about getting a waiver!. they say you MUST! NO EXCEPTIONS! PERIOD! get it. why are they allowed to spread this lie?

  3. YRofTexas says:

    Just as “mar” says, I work at a community college north of Dallas, and it is MANDATORY that the students get proof of their vaccination done by the end of TODAY to submit with their registration. If they do NOT get this paperwork, then they can NOT register. PERIOD.

    James – this is the LAW. Please do not confuse students and their parents. Shame on you!!

    1. YRofTexas says:

      Correction to my post: We accept waivers, but the student can be legally denied access because the school does not want liability if disease comes about due to not complying with state law.

  4. Trey says:

    These articles are very misleading. My wife called the University of North Texas following an article in the Denton Record Chronicle and UNT stated that returning students who were enrolled in the previous semester do NOT have to take the vaccine.

    See the law as it was written:

    (1) a new student, as defined by Section 51.9191; and

    (2) a student who previously attended an institution
    of higher education or private or independent institution of higher
    education before January 1, 2012, and who is enrolling in the same
    or another institution of higher education or private or
    independent institution of higher education following a break in
    enrollment of at least one fall or spring semester

  5. James says:

    Is cbs censoring posts?

    I have posted twice where this exemption information is available and it’s been near a half hour and unlike the other posts which showed up near immediately- those two post have not.

    1. YRofTexas says:

      James, The “trick” is to post quickly and carefully. The CBS software is fickle and tempermental if you don’t post “just right”. It will mistakenly take posts as duplicate when they are not. Keep trying, with changing some lettering, and your post will eventually get thru.

  6. James says:

    The State of Texas tells us right here… under exemptions.

Comments are closed.

More From CBS Dallas / Fort Worth

Drip Pan: CBS Local App
Drip Pan: Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE