DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – When Alberto Gonzalez came to bat in the 11th inning over the weekend he laid down a bunt to help the Rangers win a game against the Tigers.
Only problem was that the ball hit Gonzalez in the knee, but the Umpires didn’t catch it and the Rangers get a break and win. Or should they?
It’s 2012, we have replay, but we couldn’t use it to get the call right? It clearly hit his knee.
The bigger gaffe was made by Gonzalez himself. NEVER, EVER, EVER admit the ball hit you. Not during the game, not after, not the next day or next series. You just say I don’t think so or Didn’t feel it or not my job to call that. You never admit the Ump made a mistake when it’s in your favor.
This isn’t about sportsmanship, it’s about not showing up the ref or ump. Your the player, you play, let the refs ref.
Besides, when have you ever seen a team say no Mr. Ref/Ump, you made a mistake, I was really out, we shouldn’t win. Yeah right. Besides a good ref/Ump wouldn’t and couldn’t change his call just because a player said so.
Alberto Gonzalez, I know you were just trying to be honest but next time keep it to yourself. Maybe next time you get the same umpire crew and they remember the call you got and maybe they even things out!!
You Never Know!
*Listen to Arnie Spanier weeknights on 105.3 The Fan 10:00 p.m. – 1:00 a.m. Follow Arnie on Twitter @StinkinGenius1
(© Copyright 2012 KRLD FM, 105.3 The Fan, CBS Local. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)
Also Check Out:
- Man Jailed For Child Support For Baby That Wasn’t His
- Bullying Complaints Surface Against H.S. Football Coach
- Original Mud Run Participant Dies During Fort Worth Event
- Suspects Who Set Dallas Dog On Fire Wanted
- Dallas Home Invasion Ends With Deadly Shooting