DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – Just because you sold your car doesn’t mean you’re off the hook for tolls and other penalties.
One driver recently sold his car directly to a buyer. He then went on the North Texas Toll Authority website and cancelled his toll tag. But a month later he received a bill for $30, because the car was still registered in his name.
Michael Rey with the NTTA says the seller should immediately send the Texas DMV a vehicle transfer notification form and not rely on the buyer to do it for them.
KRLD Phyllis Smith Reports:
Rey says if a car doesn’t have a toll tag, then the zip cash program uses the information connected to the license plate on the car to collect their fee.
The state gives drivers 30 days from the time of sale to send the DMV a vehicle transfer notification form. For more information on how to find that form, click here.