CBS 11 Header TXA 21 Header MeTV Header KRLD Header The Fan Header
CBS DFW WEATHER APP: iPhone App Store | Android App Coming Soon | More Information


Dallas Council Elections Will To Be Interesting With New Lines

Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up

From Our CBS Music Web Sites

625x352 thrill eng preview Dallas Council Elections Will To Be Interesting With New LinesWin A Trip To Disneyland!

82641739 10 Dallas Council Elections Will To Be Interesting With New LinesHottest Sunbathers Of The Summer

451506504 Dallas Council Elections Will To Be Interesting With New LinesJennifer Lopez Bikini Pic Is HOT

 alt=What Did Jerry Jones Say?

 alt=Musicians Then And Now


VOTE: Best Coaches In American Sports

DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – Friday was the deadline for would-be candidates to file the paperwork to run in the May Dallas City Council election.

Assuming everything is okay once the City Secretary has gone through the papers, nine of the fourteen council seats will be contested, including District One in North Oak Cliff, where two incumbents will be running against each other.

Council members Scott Griggs and Delia Jasso were in separate districts, but last year’s district re-alignments now have them in the same one.

Seven candidates filed the papers to run in District 14 where term limits prevent Angela Hunt from running for re-election.

There are three candidates lining up for Ann Margolin’s seat in District 13. She chose not to run for re-election.

Dallas Mayor Mike Rawlings is not up for re-election this year.

Over in Fort Worth, Mayor Betsy Price tweeted early Saturday that she learned she will run unopposed this time around.  She said, “I can’t tell you how honored I am to know you have such faith in the job we are doing at city hall.”

Municipal elections in Dallas and Fort Worth take place on May 11.

(©2013 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Also Check Out: