DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) – The Stars will open the 2013-14 NHL regular season on Thursday, October 3 against the Florida Panthers, which is followed by a game against the Washington Capitals on Saturday, October 5.

The Stars then take off with a three-game road trip from October 11-15.

The season will be put on hold for 2 1/2 weeks in February to accommodate the 2014 Games in Russia.

The club is scheduled to play 82 games during the 2013-14 regular season, with 41 contests at home and 41 on the road.

With the NHL approved realignment and division-based playoff format in March – the Stars are now in a more ‘geographically friendly’ division.

The Stars are now in a division with Chicago, Colorado, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg meaning that most divisional road games will now start between 7:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m., changing from the 9:00 p.m.-or-later start times that were common in the past.

The league’s four new divisions will be called Metropolitan and Atlantic in the Eastern Conference, and Central and Pacific in the West. No teams in what was the Atlantic Division are in the new group of that name.

You can view the full Dallas Stars schedule here.

(©2013 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Also Check Out: