High School Sports

What UIL Should Have Done

By Bill Jones | CBS 11
View Comments
(credit: Mario Tama/Getty Images)

(credit: Mario Tama/Getty Images)


cheer thumb What UIL Should Have DoneNFL Cheerleaders

cows What UIL Should Have DoneCowboys Cheerleaders

mavs dancers 4 10 10002570231 What UIL Should Have Done

Mavs Dancers

victoria thumb What UIL Should Have Done

Victoria's Secret Fashion Show

dfw What UIL Should Have DoneBest Young Athlete In DFW?

FORT WORTH (CBS 11) — In 5 minutes time this morning, I realigned the DFW Class 6A districts in such a way that balances the schools geographically and competitively (something the UIL rarely seems to take into account).

The main problem with the new UIL alignment is that it placed mega monsters Allen, Plano, Plano East, and Plano West in Region I. This move substantially weakens Region II from a competitive standpoint and makes Region 1 into a Super Region where we could easily have the top two football teams in the state meeting in the state quarterfinals the next two years.

By pairing Allen, McKinney Boyd, and the Plano schools with the four Lewisville ISD schools, we now have a nine team District 6-6A, which has six schools that made the football playoffs last year.

By moving those Collin County schools west to Region I and shifting the Irving schools to Region II for the first time ever, it also made it necessary to place Coppell, Southlake Carroll, Colleyville Heritage, Euless Trinity and Hurst Bell into the same district. That’s five perennial playoff schools in the same district.

So, in five minutes time this morning, over a cup of coffee and the morning paper, the problem is fixed:

District 4-6A
Arlington Bowie
Arlington Lamar
Arlington Martin
Sam Houston
FW Paschal
North Crowley

District 5-6A
(Coppell and Carroll replace Denton Guyer and Ryan)
Southlake Carroll
Keller Timber Creek
Keller Central
Keller Fossil Ridge
Trophy Club Byron Nelson
Justin Northwest

District 6-6A
(Guyer, Ryan, and Turner replace Allen, Plano schools)
Denton Guyer
Denton Ryan
Carrollton Turner
Flower Mound
FM Marcus
McKinney Boyd

District 7-6A
(Irving schools replace Coppell, Carroll)
Euless Trinity
Hurst Bell
Colleyville Heritage
Irving MacArthur
Irving Nimitz

District 8-6A
Cedar Hill
Grand Prairie
South Grand Prairie

District 9-6A
(Highland Park, Mesquite schools replace Turner, Irving schools)
Highland Park
Dallas Skyline
Dallas Jesuit
Dallas W. T. White
Dallas Sunset
North Mesquite
Mesquite Horn

District 10-6A
(Allen, Plano schools replace Mesquite schools)
Plano East
Plano West
Richardson Berkner
Richardson Pearce
Lake Highlands

District 11-6A
Garland Lakeview Centennial
Garland Naaman Forest
North Garland
Tyler Lee

(©2014 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Latest News:

Top Trending:

View Comments