DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) — Oklahoma City forward Kevin Durant has won his first career NBA MVP award, beating out LeBron James, who had won four of the last five.

Durant received 119 of 125 first place votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters; James received the other six.

Durant finished the season averaging a career-high 32.0 points and 5.5 assists per game, while shooting 50.3 percent from the field. This season marked his fourth scoring title in the past five years.

Mavs forward Dirk Nowitzki, who won the award in 2007, finished 14th, receiving one 4th place vote and four 5th place votes.

The German enjoyed his best statistical season since 2010-11, averaging 21.7 points on 49.7 percent shooting in 80 games.

Final NBA MVP voting results (total points):

Kevin Durant (1232)
LeBron James (891)
Blake Griffin (434)
Joakim Noah (322)
James Harden (85)
Stephen Curry (66)
Chris Paul (45)
Al Jefferson (34)
Paul George (33)
LaMarcus Aldridge (26)
Kevin Love (25)
Tim Duncan (21)
Tony Parker (21)
Dirk Nowitzki (7)
Carmelo Anthony (4)
Goran Dragic (3)
Mike Conley (1)

(©2014 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Latest News:

Top Trending:

More From CBS Dallas / Fort Worth

Drip Pan: CBS Local App
Drip Pan: Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE