Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

NEW YORK (AP) — A “potentially historic” storm could dump 2 to 3 feet of snow from northern New Jersey to Connecticut starting Monday, crippling a region that has largely been spared so far this winter, the National Weather Service said.

A blizzard warning was issued for New York and Boston, and the National Weather Service said the massive storm would bring heavy snow and powerful winds starting Monday and into Tuesday.

This winter weather is affecting flights through out the nation. Two North Texas Airlines have already reported delays, diversions, and cancellations for flights.

American Airlines is offering customers flexibility to change their travel plans due to anticipated winter weather conditions in the Northeast during Thanksgiving week.

Customers ticketed on American Airlines, American Eagle or US Airways or US Airways Express flights on Nov. 26 to, from, or through the cities listed below may change flights without penalty, have the ticket-reissue charge waived for one ticket change, and begin travel as early as November 25 or as late as Nov. 27 under American’s current travel waiver.

Here is the list of affected cities and airports:

Albany, NY (ALB)
Baltimore, MD (BWI)
Boston, MA (BOS)
Hartford, CT (BDL)
Islip / Long Island/Macarthur, NY (ISP)
Manchester, NH (MHT)
New Haven, CT (HVN)
New York Kennedy, NY (JFK)
New York LaGuardia, NY (LGA)
Newark, NJ (EWR)
Philadelphia, PA (PHL)
Portland, ME (PWM)
Providence, RI (PVD)
Salisbury, MD (SBY)
Stewart / Newburgh, NY (SWF)
Washington Dulles, VA (IAD)
Washington Reagan Nat’l, DC (DCA)
Westchester County / White Plains, NY (HPN)

Southwest Airlines advises customers holding reservations for travel to,from and through the Washington D.C. Metropolitan area on January 26 are eligible to reschedule their flights in accordance with our accommodation procedures:

Baltimore/Washington (BWI)
Washington Dulles (IAD)
Washington Reagan National (DCA)

Similarly, Customers holding reservations for travel to/from/through the following cities starting 12:00 p.m. (ET) on January 26 through the close of business on January 27 are eligible to reschedule their flights in accordance with our accommodation procedures:

Philadelphia (PHL)
Newark (EWR)
New York LaGuardia (LGA)
Long Island/Islip (ISP)
Albany (ALB)
Hartford (BDL)
Providence (PVD)
Boston (BOS)
Manchester (MHT)
Portland (PWM)

Both airlines advises contacting the airlines for information and vouchers.


(©2015 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)