NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) – Expect to see thousands of state troopers, local police officers and sheriff’s deputies from across North Texas out on the roads in force.

Increased enforcement of the Click It or Ticket campaign starts today, and law enforcement officials across the state will be watching extra close for drivers, adult passengers and children who are not buckled up properly.

READ MORE: Small Business Saturday Offers North Texans Another Day Of Deals And Steals

According to Texas law, any driver or passenger inside a moving vehicle is required to wear a seat belt and children younger than 8-years-old must be in a properly installed child or booster seat.

The two-week enforcement of the Click It or Ticket campaign runs through the Memorial Day weekend and ends June 3.

Officials with the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) say nearly 3,000 people died in fatal collisions on Texas streets and highways last year — and almost half of those victims were not buckled up.

In a press release statement TxDOT’s Traffic Operations division director, Carol Rawson, said, “We shouldn’t have to remind people to wear seat belts. But just in case, police officers around the state will be pulling over folks who still have not gotten the message.”

READ MORE: Pavelski Reaches 400 Career Goals As Stars Beat Avalanche 3-1

Numbers from the Texas Transportation Institute show that Texas ranks seventh in the nation for overall seat belt use, and that more than 90-percent of motorists in the state are using their seat belts.

“Seat belt use in Texas is much higher than it was when we started this effort 11 years ago, but we still have some holdouts,” Rawson said. “We want everyone to get on board with the habit of buckling up.”

Anyone stopped for not wearing a seat belt could face a fine of up to $250, plus court costs.

Check out for more information on the seat belt campaign.

Also Check Out:

MORE NEWS: TCU Falls 48-14 To Iowa State