ARLINGTON (CBSDFW.COM) — Yu Darvish took a no-hitter into the final at bat on Friday night against the Red Sox at Globe Life Park in Arlington. Or at least we thought he did.

Major League Baseball has overturned a controversial 7th inning “error” call, instead ruling that David Ortiz’ fly ball was a hit.

READ MORE: COVID-19 Vaccination Hub Opens At Potter's House In Dallas

Playing in a shift, second baseman Rougned Odor drifted into right field to catch the high fly ball; right fielder Alex Rios came on as well.

In the end, both fielders watched as the ball fell to the grass in shallow right field, breaking up Darvish’s perfect game. It turns out the mistake also cost Darvish the no-hitter.

[mlbvideo id=”32751773″ width=”330″ height=”185″ /]

The official scorer ruled the play an error, citing MLB Rule 10.12(a)(1):

READ MORE: 'No Business Wearing This Uniform,' Dallas Police Officer Bryan Riser Arrested, Charged With 2 Counts Capital Murder

The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball.

Ortiz would go on to end Darvish’s perceived no-hitter with a single to right field with two outs in the 9th inning.

(©2014 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Latest News:

[display-posts category=”news,sports” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”5″]

MORE NEWS: Texas Detectives Dismantle Drug Lab, Seize 50 Pounds Of Meth And Skull Grip Handgun

Top Trending: