NEW YORK (CBSDFW.COM/AP) – Los Angeles Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw was a unanimous winner for his third NL Cy Young Award after leading the majors in victories and ERA and throwing a no-hitter.

Kershaw earned the honor for the second year in a row, getting all 30 first-place votes in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced Wednesday.

Kershaw went 21-3 with a 1.77 ERA for the NL West champions.

The 26-year-old lefty will find out Thursday whether he’s the first NL pitcher to sweep the MVP and Cy Young prizes since Bob Gibson in 1968.

Kershaw played baseball locally at Highland Park High School. He was recognized as an elite high school prospect in 2006 when he posted a 13–0 record with an earned run average (ERA) of 0.77, and recorded 139 strikeouts in 64 innings pitched.

The Dodgers selected Kershaw as the seventh overall pick in the 2006 MLB draft.

Johnny Cueto of Cincinnati was second in the Cy Young voting and Adam Wainwright of St. Louis was third.

Voting was completed before the start of the postseason. Kershaw went 0-2 with a 7.82 ERA in a Division Series loss to St. Louis.

The AL Cy Young Award was to be announced later Wednesday.

(© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. The staff of CBSDFW.COM contributed to this report.)

Latest News:

[display-posts category=”news,sports” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”5″]

Top Trending: