Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

AUSTIN (CBSDFW.COM) – Due to the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that has occurred in Texas over the last couple of months, the federal disaster declaration has been expanded to include Individual Assistance for five additional counties, according to the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Bowie, Brazoria, Cherokee, Ellis and Harrison join 31 counties already designated for the individual assistance, which may include grants to help pay for rent, temporary housing, home repairs, medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs for homeowners and renters.

Disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are also available for businesses of all sizes, private or non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters who need funds for repairs, or replacing disaster-damaged property. The disaster loans are low interest, and cover losses not fully covered by insurance.

July 28th is the deadline to apply, and residents and business owners are urged to do so right away, and not wait for insurance claims to settle.

Texans who had storm damage should register with FEMA, even if they have insurance. FEMA may be able to assist under-insured applicants after their insurance claims have been settled.

Residents can get more information about Texas disaster recovery through FEMA’s website.

The other 31 counties being assisted are: Bastrop, Blanco, Caldwell, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Eastland, Fannin, Fayette, Fort Bend, Gaines, Grayson, Guadalupe, Harris, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Johnson, Liberty, Milam, Montague, Navarro, Nueces, Rusk, Smith, Travis, Walker, Wichita, Williamson, Wise and Van Zandt. Residents in the now 36 designated counties are eligible to apply for state and federal assistance.