Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

WASHINGTON (CBSDFW.COM/AP) – President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in three counties of south Texas following severe storms including tornadoes and flooding earlier this month.

READ MORE: World Series Notebook: Home Team Finally Wins At Home 

The declaration covers Jasper, Newton and Orange Counties.

A press release sent from The White House said, in part –

“Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.”

READ MORE: No. 16 Baylor At Home Could Knock Texas Out Of Big 12 Race

The Sabine river along the border between Texas and Louisiana was hit with the worst flooding since 1884. Governor Greg Abbott had requested the federal declaration on Friday and said at the time that more counties may be added later.

South Texas wan’t the only part of the state with severe weather damage — The White House said that too is being taken under consideration.

“FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed.”

MORE NEWS: Oil Chiefs Set To Testify At Landmark Congressional Hearing

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)