Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter


INDIANAPOLIS (AP)– There have been 99 editions of the Indianapolis 500 and many great finishes.

In the lead-up to the 100th running of the “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” next Sunday, The Associated Press interviewed the 27 living race winners on topics ranging from the greatest driver to most memorable moment.

Their pick as the greatest race in history: Al Unser Jr.’s victory over Scott Goodyear in 1992. Unser wobbled just a bit in the final turner, Goodyear weaved behind him down the straightaway, then dove inside as the two cars crossed the finish line. The margin of Unser’s victory was just 0.043 seconds.

Four other races received multiple votes: Unser’s loss to Emerson Fittipaldi in the 1989 race; the 2006 race when Sam Hornish Jr. passed Marco Andretti within sight of the finish; the 1982 battle between Rick Mears and Gordon Johncock; and the 2011 race won by the late Dan Wheldon.

(© Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)