Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

AUSTIN (CBSDFW.COM) – President Barack Obama granted Governor Greg Abbott’s federal disaster request Saturday for assistance in 12 counties that were affected by recent flooding.

READ MORE: Day 2 Of The State Fair Of Texas Brings Visitors Fun, Football & Fried Food

The counties affected are Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Travis, Waller, and Washington.

Public Assistance Category B, which are emergency protective measures, for local and state response costs and sheltering were also granted.

READ MORE: No Injuries Reported After Propane Tank Explosion At Texas Motor Speedway

Category A, which is debris assistance, remains on hold as water continues to recede and damage is assessed.

“I would like to thank the President and FEMA for their quick response in granting assistance to those affected by the severe weather and flooding of the past couple weeks,” said Governor Abbott. “Texans have always risen to meet the challenges they face and this time will be no different. With this latest development Texans can now begin the process of rebuilding their lives after experiencing some of the worst flooding in recent history.”

Additional counties may be added to Governor Abbott’s disaster request once they met the threshold required by the federal government to request aid.

MORE NEWS: Officials: 2 Missing Texas Kids Found Alive After Being Kidnapped By Registered Sex Offender

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)