NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) – Next week, Texas lawmakers are expected to debate a bill that would decriminalize marijuana in the state.READ MORE: Public Health Experts Say Dallas Cowboys COVID Outbreak Shows Pandemic Far From Over
House Bill 81 would replace arrests and jail time with a civil fine for possession of small amounts of marijuana. The measure would make possession of one ounce of weed or less a non-criminal offense, punishable by a $250 fine.READ MORE: AP Source: Rangers Snag Shortstop Corey Seager For $325 Million, 10-Year Deal
The crime would be a Class B misdemeanor if the amount of marijuana was more than once ounce, but less than two. Those in possession of two ounces of marijuana, but less than four, would face Class A misdemeanor charges.MORE NEWS: TCU Officially Hires SMU's Sonny Dykes As New Coach
As it stands, anyone in Texas who is in possession of two ounces of marijuana or less faces a punishment of up to six months in jail and a $2,000 fine.