TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) – The first sale of state-sanctioned medical marijuana happened Thursday morning.
It was delivered to a 6-year-old girl in Central Texas with intractable epilepsy.READ MORE: Officials: 2 Missing Texas Kids Found Alive After Being Kidnapped By Registered Sex Offender
To legally purchase medical marijuana in Texas, the patient must have a prescription approved by two neurologists on the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT).
Only two of 17 doctors currently registered are in North Texas. Click here for the complete list.READ MORE: Small Business Owners Excited As Visitors Return, Pack The State Fair Of Texas
Growers are harvesting cannabis for sale in the small city of Schulenburg in Fayette County.
The Compassionate Use Act in 2015 legalized the purchase and use of low THC cannabis oil by Texas patients with intractable epilepsy through a state program. It has taken 2 1/2 years for the first sale to take place.MORE NEWS: SMU Beats TCU 42-34 In 100th Meeting Of The Dallas-Area Rivals