SAN ANTONIO (AP) — Eight candidates are competing in a bipartisan special election to replace Democratic Texas state Sen. Carlos Uresti, who stepped down in June after being sentenced to 12 years in prison on federal fraud charges.

Sen. Carlos Uresti (

READ MORE: Governor Abbott Proposes Parental Bill of Rights As Part of Re-Election Campaign 

Uresti’s term doesn’t expire until 2020 and his San Antonio district is heavily Democratic. But with such a crowded field, no candidate may win a majority, forcing a runoff.

READ MORE: Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton Refuses To Hand Over January 6 Records

Tuesday’s best known hopefuls are Democrats Roland Gutierrez, a current state representative, and Pete Gallego, a former, longtime state House lawmaker who served one term in Congress. Also running is Republican Pete Flores, who Uresti beat in 2016.

Uresti was convicted of 11 felonies stemming from being general counsel and partial owner of an oilfield service company — FourWinds Logistics — that prosecutors say operated a Ponzi scheme to defraud investors.

MORE NEWS: Dallas ISD: A Lot Involved In Keeping Doors Open During COVID-19 Surge

(© Copyright 2018 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)