NEW ORLEANS (CBSDFW.COM/AP) — Baylor won the Sugar Bowl 21-7, beating Ole Miss after earning their first 12-win season.

Baylor coach Dave Aranda is doused by offensive lineman Tate Williams after the team’s 21-7 victory over Mississippi in the Sugar Bowl. (Credit: AP Photo/Matthew Hinton)

READ MORE: Texas Amber Alert Issued For 14-Year-Old Hillary Salcedo Out Of Buda

Al Walcott set a Sugar Bowl record with a 96-yard interception return, Monaray Baldwin raced 48 yards for the go-ahead score on an end around. Abram Smith ran for 172 yards to finish with a single-season record 1,601 yards rushing for Big 12 champion Baylor.

The Bears defense showed up again, racking up 10 sacks and three interceptions against Ole Miss.

Mississippi quarterback Matt Corral injured his right leg while being sacked by Baylor’s Cole Maxwell during the first quarter of the Sugar Bowl.

READ MORE: Cashing Out? City Of Dallas Revokes 'Poker Room' Permits Months After Approving Them

Mississippi quarterback Matt Corral warms up for the Sugar Bowl. (Credit: AP Photo/Matthew Hinton)

Corral took a couple of paces on his own as he walked into an injury tent on the sideline, nut he was carted to the locker room for X-rays soon after and later returned to the field on crutches.

Corral is a projected high-round NFL draft pick. He passed for 3,339 yards and 20 touchdowns to go with 597 yards and 11 TDs rushing during the regular season. He chose to play in the Sugar Bowl even as many draft-eligible college standouts opted out of bowl games to minimize injury risks.

MORE NEWS: Wearing Only Socks And Shorts, Dallas 11-Year-Old Traveon Michael Allen Griffin Missing Overnight

(© Copyright 2021 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.) Staff