What Is The Landry Award?

The Landry Award recognizes the top high school football player (any position, any division, any school within the 32-county viewing area) in North Texas who demonstrates positive character and leadership attributes. The honoree is chosen by a voting panel of former coaches and players, members of the media and local leaders. Online public voting also accounts for one vote in the panel balloting. The program was created in 2010 by CBS 11 and TEXAS 21 in partnership with the Greater Dallas Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes.  The Landry Award is presented by the Nebraska Furniture Mart.

The Nominations Are All In.

Voting Period Has Ended – Check Back Here For More Info Later.

Official Rules

The Landry Award 2018 Winner

Southlake Carroll Running Back T.J. McDaniel

Southlake Carroll Running Back T.J. McDaniel has been named the Landry Award winner for 2018. McDaniel received the award at the Landry Award presentation at the Hope Center in Plano on Monday night, December 17.

The Southlake Carroll running back rushed 2122 yards and 34 touchdowns in helping the Dragons to a 13-1 season.  Southlake Carroll’s season ended when they lost to Duncanville in the Class 6A quarterfinals. Other finalists included Mansfield Lake Ridge Enoch Jackson Jr, Arlington High School’s Jahari Rogers, Allen High School’s Theo Wease Jr and Brian Williams of Bishop Dunne Catholic school. Being a part of the Landry Award presentation is part of the McDaniel family legacy.   T.J.’s older brother Cam McDaniel was a finalist for the inaugural Landry Award in 2010.


2017: John Stephen Jones, Highland Park High School
Kennedy Brooks, Mansfield
2015: Jett Duffey, Mansfield Lake Ridge
2014: Kyler Murray, Allen
2013: Myles Garrett, Arlington Martin
2012: Jake Oliver, Jesuit
2011: Johnathan Gray, Aledo
2010: Johnathan Gray, Aledo

The Landry Award was created by CBS 11 and TXA 21 in partnership with the Greater Dallas/Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes’ Character and Leadership Initiative highlighting the “One Way 2 Play – Drug Free” program.

The Landry Award 2018 Coach Of The Year


Landry Award Coach Of The Year 2018 – Jason Tucker, Haltom High School

The Landry Award also recognizes a Coach of the Year, who exemplifies the Christian values that defined Tom Landry on and off the field. A coach’s job is first about teaching life skills and molding young lives. They are shaping young people into the leaders of tomorrow. So many coaches in North Texas donate their time to be more than just a coach to kids. They are father figures, friends and, most of all, role models. They nurture them with unconditional love and turn them into the kind of adults that today’s world needs.

The Landry Award Coach of the Year, selected by Greater Dallas Fort Worth FCA leadership and The Landry Award voting panel, is one who encourages leadership, selflessness, maturity, respect and kindness.

The 2018 Landry Award Coach of the Year is Jason Tucker of Haltom High School. The other finalists were Chad Cole (Reedy High School), Kody Groves (Poteet High School), Scott Peach (Arlington High School) and Todd Rodgers (Argyle High School)..

2017: Mike DeWitt, Coppell
 Brian Brazil, Hebron
2015: Randy Jackson, Grapevine
2014: Randy Allen, Highland Park
2013: Joe McBride, Coppell

The Landry Coach of the Year Award was created by CBS 11 and TXA 21 in partnership with the Greater Dallas/Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes’ Character and Leadership Initiative highlighting the “One Way 2 Play – Drug Free” program. The Landry Coach of the Year Award is presented by Raising Cane’s.

Tom Landry: 1924-2000

One of the greatest icons of the game began his football legacy in Mission, Texas. As quarterback, Landry led his high school team to a 12-0 season in his senior year. After returning from duty as a bomber pilot, he attended the University of Texas. After graduating from Texas, Landry played professionally for the All-America Football Conference’s New York Yankees, and later the New York Giants. He played five years as a pro.

Landry started coaching as an assistant with the Giants while he was still playing, and later became a full-time assistant coach with the team. Of course, he is best known as the first head coach of the Dallas Cowboys, a position he held for 29 seasons, including a record 20 consecutive winning seasons. During this time, Landry coached America’s Team to five Super Bowl appearances, winning twice. He won 270 games, the third-most in NFL history. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Beyond the Xs and Os, Landry was known as a man of strong faith. He was an active supporter and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Greater Dallas Fellowship of Christian Athletes for 30 years, and he encouraged his players to demonstrate leadership on and off the field.