7 Best Beach Reads For Summer 2015

June 23, 2015 8:01 AM

Hitting the beach this summer? Alongside your flip-flops, towel, and plenty of sunscreen, no beach bag is complete without one of the summer’s hottest reads. Our sister company, Simon & Schuster, is back with these beachy favorites to read while you kick back under the umbrella and enjoy the waves.

Eight Hundred Grapes
By Laura Dave

Beach Reads, Summer Reading, Best Books For Summer

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Set in the lush backdrop of California’s wine country, this heartbreaking, funny, and deeply evocative novel is about love, marriage, family, and wine—and the treacherous terrain in which they all intersect. As crisp and luscious as your favorite Sonoma chardonnay, this delicious new novel will be in everyone’s beach bags this summer.

The Lake Season
By Hannah McKinnon

Beach Reads, Summer Reading, Best Books For Summer

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

The intricate bonds of sisterhood come alive in this sparkling debut novel. Set against a backdrop of dress fittings, floral arrangements, and rehearsal dinners in the weeks leading up to an idyllic New England wedding, The Lake Season sparkles with wry wit, sweet romance, and long-kept family secrets.

The Summer’s End
By Mary Alice Monroe

Beach Reads, Summer Reading, Best Books for Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

In the powerful and heartwarming conclusion to her bestselling Lowcountry Summer trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe brings readers back to the charm and sultry beauty of Sullivan’s Island, South Carolina. The Summer’s End explores how the pull of family bonds and true love is as strong and steady as the tides.

Primates of Park Avenue
By Wednesday Martin

Beach Reads, Summer Reading, Book Club, Best Books For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

After marrying a man from the Upper East Side and moving to the neighborhood, Wednesday Martin struggled to fit in. Her brilliantly original and witty memoir lifts the veil on this most secretive and elite tribe—the exotic and fascinating culture of privileged Manhattan motherhood.

The Sixteenth of June
By Maya Lang

Beach Reads, Summer Reading, Best Books for Summer Reading, Book Club

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Perfect for fans of Jonathan Tropper and Meg Wolitzer, this finely observed, wry social satire set over the course of a single day paints a moving portrait of a family at a turning point. Clever, lyrical, and poignant, this remarkable novel explores the secrets we keep and the lengths we go to for acceptance and love.

Accidents of Marriage
By Randy Susan Meyers

Beach Reads, Summer Reading, Book Club, Best Books for Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

This complex and captivating tale takes an engrossing look at the darker side of marriage—and at how an ordinary family responds to an extraordinary crisis, forcing a couple to decide when a marriage is too broken to fix. This People magazine Book Pick reveals the challenges of family, faith, and forgiveness.

The Summer of Good Intentions
By Wendy Francis

Beach Reads, Book Club, Summer Reading, Best Books For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Nothing says summer beach escape more than Cape Cod, but this year’s vacation on the Cape falls apart when three sisters and their families come together—and they are carrying more secrets than suitcases. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Kay Andres, this perfect beach read is so real that you could shake the sand out of the pages.